Bill The Butcher

A few months ago we were out for a nice Sunday drive, and wound up in Redmond. After finding a place for lunch we noticed a cool place all done up in black. Above the main door and windows, read a sign in cursive…”Bill The Butcher”.

After lunch we wondered inside. The selection, the smells, the total awesomeness! First we looked over shelf after glorious shelf of unique items. Salts, pickles, sauces, cookbooks, and oh so much more. A gourmet’s dream.

I navigated my way around the displays of deliciousness, and slid up to the cold cases. Oh My God. Organic. Aged. Smoked. Skewered. Hand Cut. Hand Made. Beautiful!

All the cuts were there, plus homemade sausages and salumi. Then there were the cheeses. I can’t go on. I’ll drool all over the keyboard. I picked up my first Wagyu skewer (which was amazing) and some Chimichurri sauce. Great experience, and we’ll be back.

Last weekend, again on a Sunday, we found ourselves near U Village. As we were looking for a place to park just past the UW fields on Sand Point Way, there it was! That beautiful cursive in white on black, Bill The Butcher.

On this occasion there were samples of everything. Sausages, jerky, cheeses. Mmmmm. This time, I looked over the case carefully and decided to select something I have never cooked. So I picked up about 8 ounces of Organic Hanger Steak.

That night, dressed simply with salt, pepper and rosemary, it was carefully placed it into a white hot cast iron skillet for about 1.5 minutes per side and then finished it in a 500 degree oven.

I’m writing this because the flavor was spectacular. The organic and aged factor gave it an almost liver like consistency along with a slight wild flavor you can’t find at just any meat counter.

What’s different about Bill The Butcher is a focus on beautifully sourced quality products. Good quality ingredients equal amazing experiences. It’s one I have been thinking about for days after my Sunday bliss.

Do yourself a favor, and don’t walk but RUN to Bill The Butcher. you won’t be sorry.

BTW, shout out to all my Facebook buds, I’ve just published this blog so give it a look now and again.

Leave a Reply

