Commitment

It’s been over a month since I heard the words, “We just can’t afford you.” This is familiar territory. As a Creative Professional, the position runs the risk of being one of the first to get the pink slip once the ledger doesn’t balance out.

At this point in my life (pushing the 50 stage), I’ve made up my mind that it will be different this time. Christine said early on, now is the time to do something for you, to spend time working on things that will improve the person, and the man.

I’ve been dedicated to the gym, heading there mornings at least 4 times per week. That quest to get back into shape began on June 8th, and I am beginning to see some fast improvements. She says she can see it in my face, that I look like I did when we began dating. Cool. I see improved aerobic intensity and duration. I’ve also been dedicated to writing more, and seeking work in all the right places. Not just finding the first thing that comes along. That’s a big change from the times in the past when I’ve found myself in this familiar territory.

Change takes commitment. It takes determination. It takes courage.

I’ve long been an advocate of change, but this time I’m going to be a fan. How I approach what’s next for the second half of my life is going to be drastically different this time. In my 20’s I was all about a radio career and hanging out with rock and movie stars. My 30’s was about dealing with the death of my father and a marriage that wasn’t to be. The beginning of my 40’s was about crisis, discovery and then redemption. Now that I have the experience of triumph and loss behind me it’s time to refocus the talents, and change how I operate.

This time, the commitment is to be the best person I can be, to discover the path that was purely meant to be and to pursue peace and harmony within the spirit that resides deep inside. I am spending the time I have without a daily work commitment, committed to work on a better more meaningful future. Committed to change, and committed to a rich and vibrant today, and tomorrow will be new and exciting opportunities.

I saw a piece of art in Vancouver last May, and I think about it every day. It said, “There is no such thing as small change.”

That is my commitment to change.

Vancouver Artwork

One response to “Commitment

  1. Conni Elliott

    Wow, Doug, that was very inspirational. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

