One Hour In The Sun

It’s a regular weekday, a regular day in July. I’ve got an hour or so before meeting with a friend, and catching up.

For a couple of days now I’ve hit a kind of writers block. No real nuggets of wisdom, or thoughts or really anything that consists of substance.

One thing comes to mind though, and this will take a bit of explanation, so please, be patient.

Back in 1984, a freshly turned 21 year old was at a bit of a crossroads. With 2 years of college about to be history, there was a burning desire to jump at the next thing. In this case, it was securing a job at a radio station. At that time radio filled my every pore. I breathed it, loved it, was consumed by it. It was my first real passion, and I was head over heels in love with it.

I had been at the college radio station during my collegiate tenure, and it no longer held that passion. I wanted to run with the big dogs, not be held back by those who were earning credits. So during a chance meeting with a legendary DJ, I had successfully secured an internship at the one radio station, the only radio station that mattered. KISW.

I started working with Steve Slaton during his evening shift. Then I was introduced to Gary Bryan, the Program Director. He agreed to bring me on during the day and do more than just answering phones. I was giddy with excitement.

Up until that point, I had this “feeling” that something was going to happen. I can’t put my finger on what that feeling was. It wasn’t anything pronounced, it was just there making it’s presence known. I just needed to let things take their course and see what happens. Problem was, at 21 I wasn’t very patient.

2 or 3 days into landing that internship with Gary, I walked in one morning and Beau Phillips is standing in the lobby. He explains very nicely that Gary had been let go, and he would be once again taking the programming helm at KISW. My heart sank, I thought for sure that he would not take on a kid to be just another intern. Again, not very patient.

The exact opposite happened. He gratefully took on this green kid, and allowed me to fly. Beau is one of my few mentors, who allowed me to learn from the best, shaping who I am today. Within 3 months I became Promotion Director and learned so much from him and that job for the next 4 or 5 years.

It’s funny because that “feeling” is back again. I know that this time my unemployment is the right thing at the right time. This time though, I am being patient. Allowing the time to fully take in what’s next. I’ve felt it for about a month now. Opportunities are presenting themselves, but in non traditional ways.

I don’t know what’s going to happen. I don’t know where I’ll end up when the next chapter begins, though it may already have. I just know that this time it is different, it is exciting, and that feeling is there.

So it’s an hour in the sun, on a regular weekday in July, and this time I am loving the feeling it represents. In the past it would have felt different, empty. Today though it feels glorious, beautiful and fun. I am sitting by the lake writing, watching ducks, boats, people….life.

It’s an hour in the sun on a remarkable Tuesday in July.

Leave a Reply

